Path Home ... Project ... Annwn-Heaven Series

Annwn-Heaven Series

Annwn-Heaven Series

The first novel in the Annwn-Heaven Series is:

A Night in Annwn

The Strange Story of Old Willy Jones’ Near-death Experience

by Owen Jones

Are you looking for a book that takes you on an otherworldly journey? Then A Night in Annwn by Welsh author Owen Jones might just be what you need. This modern fairy tale is part of the magical, enchanting Annwn-Heaven series. It tells the story of the Jones family, the mother of which, Sarah, has already travelled to the Welsh Otherworld of Annwn. In other words, she has passed away.

Annwn is Welsh Heaven

Annwn is often associated with Heaven in Welsh mythology. In this book, Jones has created a mystical and enchanting world that is both imaginative and spellbinding. By the way, Annwn is pronounced ‘Annoon’ – the ‘w’ being the vowel ‘oo’ in Welsh. The story begins in earnest when William, Sarah’s husband, suffers a Near-death Experience (NDE). When he awakens, he thinks that his nurse looks a lot like his dearly departed wife.

As William realises that he is in Annwn-Heaven, he begins to encounter a host of otherworldly experiences and landscapes that are sure to capture the reader’s imagination. From variable scenery to fantastical methods of transport, William’s journey is a mind-expanding mixture of wonderment and awe.

However, things are not always as they seem in Annwn. William soon discovers that he should take nothing at face value, although Sarah assures him that nothing can harm him in Annwn. Along the way, he faces many challenges and strange experiences. Ultimately, it is his bravery and trust in his wife that save the day.


What makes A Night in Annwn so captivating is Jones’ skill in creating a world that feels both familiar and otherworldly at the same time. The book is filled with vivid descriptions of Annwn and its inhabitants. This makes it easy for the reader to imagine themselves in William’s shoes.

At its heart, A Night in Annwn is a tale of courage and self-discovery. William’s journey to Annwn forces him to confront his deepest fears and desires. Not only that, but it is through this journey that he comes to understand his own true self and power.

Mystical and Enchanting

Overall, A Night in Annwn is a book that will appeal to anyone who loves mystical and enchanting stories. Jones’ writing is engaging and immersive, and the book is sure to leave readers feeling spellbound. Whether you are a fan of the paranormal or simply looking for a captivating read, A Night in Annwn is a book that is not to be missed.

The same is equally true of the dreamlike sequel Life in Annwn in which William finally goes to join Sarah full-time.

Other Details about Annwn-Heaven

Life in Annwn continues straight on from the first volume, that is at Willy’s funeral reception. Jones started writing the third volume, and even got halfway through it when calamity struck and he lost half of what he had written. Two back-up drives failed – one partially and one completely. He has promised to ‘get it done’ in 2023.

By the way, there are countless millions of people who believe that ‘Heaven’ could be this way. Jones does himself, although he admits that not every nation would call it Annwn.

As of writing (6th April, 2023), part or all of the Annwn-Heaven series exists in translation and / or narration in thirteen languages besides English. These are Afrikaans, Brazilian, Dutch, French, German, Greek, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Malaysian, Spanish and Swedish. The sequel exists in eight of these languages. There are audiobooks in six languages.

The Heaven-Annwn Series by Owen Jones truly has international appeal. You can check whether it appears in your language by checking ‘Non-English Translations’ in the Title Bar at the top of this page, or clicking here:

Non-English Translations

Our sister log: The Amiable Dragon

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Shopping Basket
Scroll to Top